ABOUT US

Who is involved, what we do and contact information.

You can either contact an activist directly or send a request through the “contact us” section on the site and we will be in touch shortly.

Local Executive Committee (LEC)

President

Steve Magian

smagian@sjsd.net

Vice-President

Dale Gibson

dale.gibson@sjasd.ca

Secretary-Treasurer

Bob Guenther

bguenther@sjsd.net

Recording Secretary

Randy Palmer

rpalmer@sjsd.net

Shop Steward

Sharon Guzzardi

sharon.guzzardi@sjasd.ca

Shop Steward

Sylvia Shaler

sylvia.shaler@sjasd.ca

Shop Steward

John Marsh

Sergeant at Arms

Ken Peters

Trustee

Kim Vezina-Orvis

Trustee

Stan Sobczak

Trustee

Robert Kennedy

CUPE Equality Statement

Union solidarity is based on the principle that union members are equal and deserve mutual respect at all levels. Any behaviour that creates conflict prevents us from working together to strengthen our union.

As unionists, mutual respect, cooperation and understanding are our goals. We should neither condone nor tolerate behaviour that undermines the dignity or self esteem of any individual or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive environment.

Discriminatory speech or conduct which is racist, sexist, transphobic or homophobic hurts and thereby divides us. So too, does discrimination on the basis of ability, age, class, religion, language and ethnic origin.

Sometimes discrimination takes the form of harassment. Harassment means using real or perceived power to abuse, devalue or humiliate. Harassment should not be treated as a joke. The uneasiness and resentment that it creates are not feelings that help us grow as a union.

Discrimination and harassment focus on characteristics that make us different; and they reduce our capacity to work together on shared concerns such as decent wages, safe working conditions, and justice in the workplace, society and in our union.

Close Menu